Day 7- Gotta get it done

This downstairs closet is the last one to be emptied.

A Kohl's skirt I've had for a little over a year.

Next up is decluttering all of the toys. After that I’m going to empty all contents from the bathroom cabinets. Purge! Purge! Purge! It’s a great feeling. You may read this and think that I’m some sort of fabulous housekeeper and I would laugh and laugh and keep right on laughing. I STRUGGLE with housekeeping and have for so many years. But I am always trying to improve in this area and for whatever reason I’m feeling the flow right now. So I must honor it and go until I get it done. The truth is Flylady is absolutely right when she says “You can’t clean clutter.” No you can not! I am a much better housekeeper the fewer things I have to “keep”. And when it looks nice it motivates me to keep it looking that way. But I really truly have worked on this for years and I will keep working on it because an organized home brings such a feeling of peace and well-being.

The platter was one of my thrift store finds last week. I saw it and instantly loved it. These are the little things that make me feel like I'm making my house into a home.

I love homekeeping books and right now I’m reading Home Comforts by Cheryl Mendelson. So many good passages to take from this book, so I’ll just include this one for now. In discussing mid-century housekeeping habits: “Modern supercleanliness represented to them and their peers deliverance from the dreary problems that had plagued their mother’ houses: chamberpots, smoke, grease, soot, grime, smells, ashes, bedbugs, fleas, mold and mildew, mud, stained porcelain and fabrics- all were fresh in their memories. Their excessive cleaning was rarely what it has sometimes been called: the neurotic behavior of bored women who could not think of anything more useful to do. It was a celebration of their release from centuries of a losing struggle with dirt, a celebration of new possibilities for comfort, beauty , and peace of mind that had so recently not existed even for the rich. For women who were domestic to the core, winning this war was comforting in a way we can hardly imagine.”

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Year in Skirts

Leave a Reply

