Day 27- Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real {children’s books}

It’s Thursday once again, and linking up to Like Mother Like Daughter’s {phfr} carnival!

Pretty

At our local library,  there are always books set out so that children can see the covers clearly and be introduced to stories they would otherwise probably not find. Once such book was Princess Grace, which turned out to be a lovely story about a girl named Grace who wants to be a princess, and ends up learning that there are many different kinds of princesses all over the world. One of Grace’s discoveries is that there are even many different “Cinderella” stories. The theme of a young girl who is treated unkindly, has a magic helper, finds her way to a big shin-dig and is subsequently chosen by a prince is common in several cultures. My daughter really loves fairy tales and was instantly interested in these other Cinderella stories, so we checked these two out (Abadeha: The Philippine Cinderella and The Golden Slipper: An Ancient Egyptian Fairy Tale), as well as a DVD of Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters (an African version). These are completely lovely enchanting stories! And it is so interesting to compare/contrast to the Cinderella version we all know so well. I’m looking forward to checking out other Cinderella versions from the Middle East, Vietnam, Korea and anywhere else I can find.

Happy

My girl has been sick for most of the week. (That’s not the happy part of course.) So this week has meant a lot of TV watching and time on the couch feeling miserable. Late this morning she was sitting up in the couch and seemed a bit more perked up so I decided to try and teach her how to crochet. She got the fingering quite well and spent the next hour working on her chain stitch. I can’t tell you how happy I was to see my little girl crocheting! My great-grandmother taught me and it is a way for me to feel connected to her. My husband’s great-grandmother also crocheted a lot, and it makes me happy that I’m passing this skill to my daughter and that she will have a meaningful way to connect with her great-great-grandmothers.

Funny

Since we’ve been housebound, it means that the other kids need to find things to do. Once in awhile the boy asks me if he can make a spider web in his room. So here is a picture of his web.

Here’s my Netta doing a daily funny. She always likes to suck on the waterbottle that’s for hairdoing. She let me do her hair though! She NEVER used to let me touch her hair, but she quite liked her piggies 🙂

Real

You just know it's a thrift store skirt. I probably shouldn't say it anymore!

Hey waddya know! I’m the Real portion of the PHFR this week. Why? Well, because I really am wearing skirts everyday and I’m enjoying it. Obviously I’m a casual girl by nature (since I’ve been in jeans since forever) and I’ve found that I can still have my casual comfortable vibe in my skirts, all while injecting some femininity and variety into my life. (Also it’s making me appreciate my figure. Not sure what the connection is on that one.)

Enjoy your skirts and have a wonderful day!

13 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

13 responses to “Day 27- Pretty, Happy, Funny, Real {children’s books}

  1. jen

    i have some skirts i wear when i have to leave the house for errands. long skirts are actually really comfortable for me and the ones i have with elastic waists were a godsend after my emergency c-section when my lower half was lopsided.

  2. I found you at LMLD. I like your experiment with skirts, and I like you simple, friendly writing even more! Have fun with your project!

  3. Kindra

    I also found you through LMLD! I’m loving your blog as I too am a hardcore jeans mama. Definitely think I need to find some skirts, though. I’m so bad, I don’t even own one! Can’t wait to see more from you on your journey.

    • Get thee to the thrift store! People really don’t wear their skirts so I find that they are in good condition and it’s so much easier to “eyeball” the fit of a skirt than it ever is to figure out if jeans or a shirt will fit well.

  4. I’ve been seriously considering the skirt thing for about two months now. That’s when I found myself covered in grease, standing on the back of a hay baler, trying to help my husband fix the timing. “I bet you wouldn’t have me out here like this if I was wearing a skirt,” I remarked, just in a curious, academic sort of way. He was quick, though. “Nope,” he said; “If you dress like a tomboy, you’ll be treated like a tomboy.” Interesting. I haven’t come to grips with the logistics of wearing a skirt while doing the farm work I love – like milking the cow – but I guess if I just tried, it would work itself out, one way or the other.

    Glad to meet you, though!

  5. Anastasia

    Hi! I found you at LMLD too and I love your blog. Thanks for sharing your skirt wearing and general life experiences! By the way, in the Real picture from today, I admire how clear your kitchen counter is.

  6. Your kitchen looks enviously clean!

  7. Hello, another person intrigued by the title of your blog as found by LMLD. I’ve actually written for LAF about skirts and modesty without frump. You are doing such a great and cheerful and REAL job of it! I’ve always been a skirts and dresses girl, although, growing up in the late seventies, early eighties (gosh, that makes me sound older than 35), skirts and dresses weren’t encouraged at all. So now I glory in them. Hoping you have great fun with this experiment!

    • Skirts and dresses were not encouraged at all in my life either. A dress became almost a “costume piece” reserved only for special occasions like weddings, proms, etc… I’d love to read your article if you’d link to it!

  8. I just wanted to chime in with the others who are enjoying your blog!! I am a sweats and jeans girl, too… My kids and husband are always shocked and pleasantly surprised when I show up for anything in a dress or skirt. You’ve inspired me to try a skirt or two on weekdays to see how it goes. Have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

