Day 33- A Vision of Domesticity

Today was my eldest daughter’s first day of school. She’s in the first grade which means that she’ll be away from home for longer than she’s ever been before. 😦 I miss my girl. I don’t tell her about this stuff though because I only want her to be excited and happy for school of course. No need to turn my daughter into my personal therapist! lol

Anyways, once we got home I asked the other two if they wanted to make some chocolate chip cookies for Sissy. Of course they did (especially because they know they’ll get some!) So we spent our morning together measuring and dolloping out dough and licking the batter spoons.

My vision is that I want my girl to have cookies and milk when she comes home from school today.

Is that silly? Some sort of throwback thing, like I’m trying to recapture something of a home life that I wish I’d had?

Perhaps.

But perhaps not. In everything I do, I want to communicate to my children that they are important to me. I want to create a rich home life for them. I didn’t grow up in a bad home or anything, just more of a latch-key, divorced parents, back and forth to different houses, existence. (It definitely made me independent!) The years I enjoyed most were those when my father had a telecommuting position. He was bored as heck at home, but I loved having someone to come home to (even though I was much older at the time and at an age when I was “supposed” to start hating my parents.)

If you didn’t get a vision of domestic happiness from your own family, where did it come from? A friend’s family? A book? A television show? Or movie? Or now, perhaps people can find it in blogs.

A vision is powerful because it enables us to move toward something positive. And positive change doesn’t always feel good! (I’ll write a post about that another day.) But the vision feels good, and we know that if we keep moving toward that vision we can accomplish something really great. So even though I didn’t grow up in the exact type of household I’m creating for myself and my family, I’ve had a vision of it for a very long time. You know where my vision came from? Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle.

I still have my copy! I enjoy reading these stories to the kids.

Ha ha ha ha! Yes, I just said Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle! The classic little book full of stories of naughty children with bad habits whose parents turn to Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle for a cure. I came upon this book in the third grade and loved the stories and read them often, even sometimes when I was a bit too old for it. Mrs. Carmody, Mrs. Foxglove, Mrs. Quadrangle, and more, all loving traditional mothers who care for their families, take care of their homes, and work hard to get their kids back on track. These stories provided a vision of a happy functioning family life.

Mrs. Foxglove watches over Melody "The Crybaby"

In one story The Slowpoke, Mrs. Quadrangle made little Harbin an applesauce cake for when he came home from school. In The Bully, Mrs. Semicolon fixed Nicky some sugar cookies. In the Whisperer, Mrs. Crackle had some tea and chocolate cake for the girls.

And today, my Francesca got cookies and milk.

Here I am about to leave to pick her up!

Have a wonderful day!

2 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

2 responses to “Day 33- A Vision of Domesticity

  1. We loved reading Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle when we were young!!! I even recognize the book you posted a picture from.

  2. I remember my grandma reading Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle to me when I was young, and now it’s on my own child’s nightstand right now!

    Cute skirt!

Leave a Reply

