Day 38- Oh, boy! New shoes!

I posted a question on Facebook a few weeks ago asking what shoes will work with skirts that I can use for walking the kids to school, grocery shopping etc? My requirements are: comfort, look nice with both long skirts and short, and won’t make me look like Mary Poppins. Now I’m sure you’ve noticed that flip flops are my general shoe of choice, but now that summer is changing to fall and I’m walking Francesca about a mile and a half round-trip to school (and I’m pushing the other two in the double stroller), I needed something close toe and a little more suited to my daily activities.

This question sent a flurry of responses on the topic with recommendations for boots, mules, clogs, flats etc… I’ve definitely looked into all of these (I’ve looked at pages and pages of online shoes), and even found another pair of boots at the thrift store that I think will work well when the weather starts getting really cold, but still I wasn’t finding That Perfect Shoe.

And then…I did!

Sonja called this weekend and asked if I was free to go to REI and it just so happens I was, so off we went. She went looking for climbing hooks and I went looking for shoes and don’t you know these little beauties were patiently waiting for me.

Usually I'm a size 8 or 8.5, but for some reason these fit better as a size 7.5 just FYI in case you're interested in them.

Comfortable, lightweight, not clunky, and Perfect for walking! I’m a happy gal!

My after-church outfit. You can see the shoes a little.

Another little fun-find this week was a copy of Don Aslett’s Is There Life After Housework? for only .50 at the library! I’ve checked out this book before, but I’m glad I was able to snag my own copy.

Have a wonderful day!

4 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

4 responses to “Day 38- Oh, boy! New shoes!

  1. Those are cute! And I love Tevas. I also find that their shoes fit me better if I buy a half-size smaller than my usual.

    For what it’s worth, if you’re ever on the lookout for other shoes, I LOVE my Merrell Circuits. I bought them on clearance at Marshalls for $15 which makes them even better, since if you buy them new they’re $80-90. 🙂 But they are super comfy with OR without socks, and I get compliments on them every time I wear them. (Here’s a photo of them: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bethanygronberg/5543500973/)

  2. jen

    good to know about those. will have to check out rei.

  3. those shoes are CUTE! Love them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

