Day 47- The positive thing about wearing skirts

A few days ago I wrote a post about how positive changes make you feel weird at first. And I will definitely say that when I first started wearing skirts full-time, I felt a little weird! Not because I thought I looked bad, but I DID feel more dressed up than normal and it DID require me to look at my wardrobe in a new way. I sometimes wonder if my extended family has noticed that I’m always in skirts, but no one has said anything of course. Why does it matter? What is it about skirts that it even HAS to be a statement about anything? But like it or not, I do feel that I’m making a bit of a social statement by being so skirty all of the time.

Anyways, I don’t know that I’m interested in making a social statement other than “I’m a woman,” which everyone knows anyways no matter what I wear. However, here are the positive things I’ve discovered about my skirts:

1. Even though I feel like a woman in pants, I feel more womanly in a skirt.

2. Feeling more womanly, means I’m less critical about my body. Meaning that I’m not so frequently thinking to myself “You know, you should probably be working out more.” I’m more often thinking that I’m just fine the way I am.

3. A spin-off from #2, I’m looking at myself holistically, and not just at specific body parts.

4. Skirts (and dresses) really are incredibly comfortable. No more squish at the stomach or thighs.

BTW, I’d love to see a picture of you in a skirt as well. If you put a pic up on your blog or something, just leave a link in the comments. I don’t know how to do the big link up thing that other bloggers do, but maybe I’ll figure it out sometime.

Have a wonderful day!

13 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

13 responses to “Day 47- The positive thing about wearing skirts

  1. Dwayne

    Jamie, words vannot express how proud I am of you. Whenever a gal says she ONLY wears skirts and dresses, it’s music to my ears. I’m tired of these females who see masculine dress as “enpowering”. Also, you say skirts and dresses are more comfortable than pants; these gals who say pants and shorts are more comfortable need to read what you have said about the matter. Some gals will do anything to make pants(on them) look good.

  2. Hi Jamie,
    I have been following your journey. I guess I got here through LMLD (love) but I can’t be sure.
    I too have been wearing skirts. I used to wear them all the time but then 5 babies came along and jeans just seemed to fit the lifestyle. I guess in my mind, skirts were more for “dress” occasions. Funny how I never really considered them to be casual. Then, because we homeschool I really had a mental hurdle of thinking that wearing skirts pretty much meant that people assumed that I had a goat in the backyard. Not that there is anything wrong with that. Ok there is no explaining away my prejudice. I just didn’t want to fit the stereotype. And if that weren’t enough…my beautiful daughter(18), by choice,wears skirts 99 percent of the time. So does my baby girl (5). Adding skirt wearing mama to that mix just signed my stereotypical death warrant. We are that skirtwearing-homeschooling-babymaking family. grimace.
    But you know what…I am getting over it. I really like skirts. My girl is helping me see the fun and casualness. I think about the size of my backside sooo much less now. And truly, I am thinking of printing off a picture of a goat for my wallet just so I can whip it out should anyone get snarky with me. I think I shall name her Gertie.

    • Your comment made me LOL! I totally know what you’re talking about. I also feel that watching my little girl’s unabashed love of her dresses and skirts is part of what got me thinking about the issue. I found it so charming that I don’t want her to come under the same influence that stamps out skirts from being just normal everyday wear. Of course, I don’t mind if she wears her jeans and such, but I do think I’ll be a little sad if she decided to 100% ditch her dresses and skirts.

      I also find the skirtwearing-homeschooling-babymaking families charming too (not too many have goats around here!) but I don’t like to be stereotyped either so I can understand why it would make you uncomfortable.

      Here’s to thinking less about the size of our backsides!

  3. Hi,
    Just found your site…. and am so excite to see you challenge yourself in this way. 2 years ago I committed to doing the same thing and realized something. 1. Men treat me better. 2. I am warmer and or cooler and more comfortable. 3. I feel more feminine. 4. I feel more modest and womenly. 5. I behave differently. 6. My husband and sons treat more more tenderly.. I could go on and on……

    Check out mysites when you get the chance. Once in a while I do wear jeans around the house to do chores or when I am cold and have to work I wear pretty slacks.

    http://www.the21stcenturyhousewife.com
    http://www.the21stcenturychristianwife@blogspot.com

    Kisses,
    Jenny

  4. Hi!
    I just want to say that I really enjoy your blog. 🙂 I found it through LMLD! I started wearing skirts full-time once I got married. I read the book Dressing with Dignity & now I have no desire to return to pants!!! It’s great to read about other women doing the same. The one problem I have found is keeping warm in the winter, while still trying to look stylish. I live in upstate NY and the winters are quite frigid. Last winter (my first winter in skirts!) I used leggings under my skirts, but I’m wondering if there are other options or ideas out there? So if you have any thoughts or inspirations, I gladly welcome them, hahaha. Keep up the wonderful writing! God bless!

    • I love LMLD! And thank you for the book recommendation. I think one of the hardest things for me w/ the cold weather is that I’m so accustomed to wearing flip flops or other “smallish” shoes. I’ve really never done the boots thing, but I think that’s the only way to make some skirty styles be cute and warm. But I’m learning right along with you! Thanks for saying hi!

  5. Pingback: Day 59- Some negatives about skirt-wearing « A Year in Skirts

  6. thomas

    I am a guy and I have found the comfort of wearing skirts. I can’t stand the crotch cutting pants. Skirts are even healthier for both men and women.

    • well that’s certainly interesting!

      • Thomas

        yeah there is a lot of guys around the world discovering the comfort of skirts. Check out http://www.skirtcafe.org. I sent a picture of me wearing a just above the knee cargo skirt to my friend to fix it so it would fit on a template correctly and she loved the skirt and how it went perfect with my t-shirt. Well her sister seen it the other day and asked me wear did I get my skirt from. I just wish someone would make a skirt for men that is affordable instead of $150-$300 for a utlikilt which is a skirted garment for men. I found a long skirt made from the same material as sweat pants and that skirt is warmer than a pair of pants but yet so comfortable. I wish I could find a few more like it!!

  7. dresswearingallmylife

    i have worn skirts all my life and its good at times but it does get hard but still i love it regardless

Leave a Reply

