Day 91- Fascinating Womanhood

Have you read Secrets of Fascinating Womanhood? You can see a free online version here. I found out about this book from Lori Alexander’s blog where she is doing a post for each chapter in the book. I must admit that when I read some of the advice, I have a strange reaction. Almost like a simultaneous “Really? So that’s the answer?” to “Oh give me a break!”  But I’m reading it and thinking about it (and trying to suspend some of my knee-jerk reactions) because my marriage could use a bit of a tune-up and I sense that there is quite a bit I can do. Just because I may not agree with EVERYTHING doesn’t mean there isn’t a lot I can learn.

Secrets of Fascinating Womanhood is a book full of old-school advice. Probably the kind of advice that ladies would learn in charm school back in the day. If there is an area in your marriage you know could be improved, this book may have something interesting for you to think about and apply.

Have a wonderful day!

11 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

11 responses to “Day 91- Fascinating Womanhood

  1. Dwayne

    Even though I’m male and don’t have a feminine bone in my body, that’s a book I’ll be more than happy to read, and, of course share with the females in my life.

  2. I’m curious to know what things you disagree with in the book. I just finished reading it and I have to say, I agree with most everything it teaches. It’s a really good guide to marriage.

    • I’ve just begun reading it in bits and pieces. It’s just hard to stamp out that feminist side of myself when advice is said to “Ask your husband in a child-like manner.” My knee-jerk reaction is “I’m not a child! I’m a woman for heaven’s sake!” But when I really think about what it’s saying and set aside that part of myself that wants to scoff, I get the message.

  3. I took a CLASS on it years ago! There were about 15 of us, and you should have heard the stories after everyone wrote their letter to their husbands, which IIRC is one of the first things you do. There is a lot of really good advice in there and I have a better marriage now.

    • I wonder if they still do classes? It really would be interesting to take this course as a group. Overall were the stories positive? I admit I’m seeing some changes after making some tweaks in my behavior and I haven’t done the full “assignments” either. I just started really reading the book last night, whereas before I was just skimming through certain parts. Now that I’m really reading it, I actually think it’s better than I even originally thought.

      • I know there were a couple of women in my area teaching the courses, but I don’t know if that was a national thing, or not!

      • Hi,

        I am an authorized Fascinating Womanhood teacher who teaches both live and online classes. Right now Mrs. Andelin’s son, who is the FW Executive Director (Mrs. Andelin passed away a few years ago), suggests that women interested in live classes form study groups, as no new teachers are being authorized at this time.

        I plan to post information on forming live FW study groups in the near future on my blog, God willing.

        Oh, one authorized teacher is offering online FW classes at this time (I am on break), her website is http://www.lifeasafascinatingwoman.blogspot.com .

        I hope this information is helpful to you.

        Sincerely,
        Mrs. Wayne Hunter

  4. Oh, and yes, the stories were all very positive!

Leave a Reply

