Day 99- I still wear pants you know

Most days I wear skirts (obviously!) but I do change into pants when I go to teach my class, or perhaps for some other activity. I mentioned in a comment on day 97  that I feel this experiment has helped me to put better outfits together overall.

For example, Tuesday night I left the house at 6:30pm to teach my class. You can see that I’m wearing the same shirt and shoes that I posted. I just put on jeans and added this sweater.

The day before I changed into pants in the late afternoon after church.  The weather got super-cold and it actually hailed a few hours later. I’ve never owned boots before this summer when I realized I’d need something other than tennis shoes to wear with skirts in the colder weather. So didn’t I feel all kinds of stylish for tucking my jeans into my new-to-me boots? Yes I did.

And if I’m feeling very frumpy, I’d rather feel frumpy in pants than frumpy in a skirt. Here’s a pic of me from 2 weeks ago. However, this is how I used to spend 4-5 out of 7 days of the week. I’ve always said that I dress just like Kristy from The Babysitter’s Club.

So there you have it. I’m glad that even when I do wear pants now, I’m able to wear them a little nicer than I was before. And I’m glad that skirts have become a normal item of clothing in my wardrobe. It’s not a religious statement. It’s not just for special occasions. And it’s not trying to be sexy. It’s just a skirt. A skirt for grocery shopping, preschool, parks, and life. It’s a piece of clothing that is exclusively feminine, and I like that we can wear it in the everyday.

Here’s what I wore today.

Have a wonderful day!

3 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts, Thoughts on Stuff

3 responses to “Day 99- I still wear pants you know

  1. I think it’s so funny now that I tuck my pants into my boots…My inner grunge-girl-15-year-old self would have gotten nauseous at the thought! I still don’t really like pointy shoes very much. Anyway! You look great in all those pics. Love the boots! Very updated look!

  2. Isn’t it funny how the thought process follows that if you wear skirts more than you wear pants you become ” that one that wears skirts”.
    I have heard my friends make reference to me this way but actually I am admitting something here…my own brain pattern.
    My jump from pants to skirts came after some weight loss and my agonizing about going to buy new pants. (i hate jeans shopping almost as much as bra shopping).
    So, with my daughters help, I pulled the skirts out of the back of my closet and made a few runs to the thrift store. I love the wardrobe options. I love not feeling squeezed by denim.
    What I don’t love is the insane “weirdness” I feel. I am not out to prove anything. Yet I feel this strange oddness as if two skirts in a row appears to be a religious statement. Like it makes other feel that I am making that statement when I am not at all! If I was then so be it.
    But it is just a skirt.
    It is a really interesting transformation. Probably way more there than I even know.

  3. shwell

    I have been enjoying your blog that last few weeks I think I have looked at all your posts. Obviously you live somewhere warmer than me – I am in Maine.
    I have been wearing more skirts on purpose since I started reading this blog, I wear a lot of dresses and skirts in the summer but not many in the winter.
    I think I need some boots – thanks for that idea – to wear with skirts thorough the winter months.
    I have recently been wearing this skirt a lot lately, it is a jersey knit floor length skirt, warm enough for Maine at the moment and very comfortable. And also it is on sale now. It’s a little more than your usual thrift store budget but I think I will get my money’s worth from it.

    http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=55402&vid=1&pid=886041&scid=886041032

    🙂 Michelle

Leave a Reply

