Day 105- Black Friday and my Easy Mac and Cheese

Yesterday was Black Friday and I’m one to go out into the retail wilderness. I tried the 4am thing last year, but didn’t think the deals I got were worth the time spent, so this year I just headed out whenever. I do like getting as much Christmas shopping done as soon as possible without doing a bunch of shopping early like in October. So I’m all for the mad-dash.

I wrote yesterday how we went to Jason’s aunt and uncle’s house for Thanksgiving. I brought fresh bread, cranberry sauce, and mac n cheese. I’m an insecure cook so when people like something I’ve made I get All Kinds of Happy. So today I thought I’d share with you how I make my super easy mac n cheese that everyone liked at Thanksgiving.

Boil the noodles, drain and let dry a bit. Pour them into a large bowl and mix in 16oz of cottage cheese.

Season with salt and pepper now. I season, then stir a bit and season some more.

Mix in three cups of cheese. I use 1/2 sharp cheddar, 1/2 monterey jack. You can always use more cheese if you want. This is something I typically just approximate.

Just a tip to make prep even easier: I buy the big blocks of cheese at Costco and shred them in the food processor all at once and store in this ice cream container. That way I always have shredded cheese on hand since I use it in so many dishes.

Prep a 9 x 13 inch casserole with some oil spray, and pour the mixture in. Drizzle on some half and half over the noodles. I don’t have a measurement here. It maybe ends up being 1/3 cup? More? Less? I just drizzle it on so I really don’t know. When the cheese melts it makes everything creamy.

Add some more cheese on the top and sprinkle on some Parmesan.

Cover and bake at 350 for 20 mins. Then uncover and bake 5-10 mins more just to brown the top a bit.

It tastes light and creamy (IT’S EASY) and my family loves it!

Have a wonderful day!

Linked to True Femininity

4 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

4 responses to “Day 105- Black Friday and my Easy Mac and Cheese

  1. Thanks for the tip about shredding the cheese beforehand and keeping it in containers. I’ll keep that in mind!

  2. That mac and cheese looks yummy!

    Gotta love a good jean skirt with boots for fall, that’s definitely a staple wardrobe piece around here.

  3. leslie

    I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time because I love it, but this is my first comment. I have your mac and cheese in my oven right now! Can’t wait to try it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

