Day 127- 12 Days of Christmas

{Pretty}

For the first time, we’re observing the 12 days of Christmas

with the Christ candle and one lit for Mary too.

I always thought the 12 days were part of Advent!! Wrong! Being that I wasn’t raised in the church, many things never made sense to me. What is the Eucharist? What is Pentecost? What is Epiphany? Maundy Thursday???

Well now I know. So hopefully these small rituals will help guide my children into knowing the church calendar and major events. With all the gift-giving these kids have experienced in the last week, I’m deciding if they should open one last small gift on the 6th. Hmmm?

{Happy}

My favorite gift! Oh boy! Ever since I had that moment of brilliance to put together puzzles on a foam board (because you can pick it up and move it out of the way when you need to use the table!), it’s become my favorite way to kill time.

{Funny}

My other favorite gift! The most unattractive pajamas of all time. I feel super-silly in these, like a big ol’ rabbit. But they ARE really warm and cozy!

{Real}

Need to do any last minute gift-giving? Like for a family member who comes into town that you didn’t know you’d be seeing??? Make this Winter Granola. It’s really tasty and people appreciate having a healthier snack after all the holiday cookies. A great way to re-purpose spaghetti and pickle jars!

Have a wonderful day! (I can’t believe it’s warm enough in late December to be sleeveless with flip-flops. But I’ll take it!)

Like Mother, Like Daughter

4 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

4 responses to “Day 127- 12 Days of Christmas

  1. It’s warm here, too. Sometimes I long to live in a place that actually has seasons but then I remember that I don’t have to deal with shoveling snow!

  2. Love those jambos! They look so comfy. πŸ™‚ I am drawn to the blogs written by converts because they know so much more about the faith than I learned growing up in it!

  3. Oh my – your idea about the foam board for puzzles was brilliant! I have a new puzzle to work on and I’m going to get a foam board ASAP!

  4. I can totally believe it’s warm enough for sleeveless shirts and flip-flops in December…because you’re in Southern California, where it’s warm enough for those things nearly year-round. Of course, if you’re a native Californian who thinks 60F is cold, then you might disagree. πŸ˜‰

    When I was a kid, my dad cut us a piece of plywood about 24″x36″ that we used for puzzles and drawing on the living-room floor. It was great!

Leave a Reply

