Day 130- St. Jerome

Just for fun I decided to pick a patron saint from the link (Saint’s Name Generator) Jennifer Fulwiler posted on her blog yesterday. I’ve never had a patron saint, nor do I know much about the saints in general or what it means to “have” one, but whatever! So the random name generator picked St. Jerome for me. St. Jerome is the “Doctor of the Church” which from what I’ve read means he was a super scholar. Kind of like a Super Hero of Studying, Writing, and All Scholarly Pursuits. He translated the Old and New Testaments into Latin and it was recognized 11 centuries later as the official version of the Bible. He tends to be a patron saint for translators, scholars, and school children. And I think he would be a great patron saint for homeschooling families since he was homeschooled himself until he left for Rome which I imagine was in his young adult life. (Even though I’m not homeschooling, the topic follows me wherever I go!)

Life was just same ol’ same ol’ around here. Today’s skirt is an example of exactly how I’d wear jeans but I’ve replaced it with a jean skirt instead. The skirt makes it a little dressier and a little more conservative, but as I mentioned I’m ok with that.

Have a wonderful day!

1 Comment

Filed under A Year in Skirts

One response to “Day 130- St. Jerome

  1. My husband chose St Jerome for his confirmation name when he converted. Did you read that he had a bad temper? I love that, perfect for my hub. I’m enjoying you sharing the new things you are learning about the church. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

