Day 153- Three good books!

My big girl is sick AGAIN this week so we’re all housebound as she works through this virus. I wore this dress with capri jeans last week.

With all of the time at home recently, I’ve been able to finish three books in the last two weeks. They’re non-fiction (my favorite) so it’s light reading that is also super interesting and educational. I like to LEARN when I read. For some reason I’ve decided I have some sort of hole in my soul where I just can’t seem to enjoy any type of fantasy novel. All of the stuff that everyone LOVES like Harry Potter and Twilight just falls dead to me. I only seem to like historical fiction because the characters are rooted in the midst of some real historical event and I enjoy connecting to that time/place in history. BUT other than historical fiction, give me a good old-fashioned non-fiction book talking about ovulation or menopause or marriage and I’m a happy camper. But here are the three good ones I’ve recently finished:

How I Got My Wiggle Back: A Memoir of Healing by Anthony Field– You know the children’s group The Wiggles? Well, this book is written by “the blue wiggle” Anthony and details how he went from living a life with chronic pain and injuries and severe digestive upsets, allergies, food sensitivities, and crippling depression, to being a very healthy man. As I read his story I was quite humbled by the severity of his illnesses and felt quite sorry for him. His journey to wellness began when he met two very astute chiropractors who were able to diagnose and treat his body holistically. This book had wonderful information about body mechanics, foot arches, walking behaviors, and several self-diagnostic tests that the reader can use to determine if they may need treatment. Β I found myself thoroughly examining my feet, ankles, and walking pattern. As the book described certain kinds of “walkers” I instantly thought of two people in my family who walk these certain ways and indeed have suffered circulation problems, back problems, arthritis, and headaches. Anthony was healed of these problems (and more) by getting chiropractics administered to his feet to unlock his arches and realign and then strengthen the “human spring”. He is clearly very fit now. Unfortunately the information on nutrition was not quite as thorough as I hoped although I did enjoy reading some about digestive enzymes. And I enjoyed reading about the origins of the Wiggles group since my children love their music so much.

Is Marriage for White People? How the African American Marriage Decline Affects Everyone by Ralph Richard Banks– I’m not sure where I heard this book title but I was immediately interested for one reason: I’ve noticed a marriage decline among everyone. For example, of the 7 kids on my street, only two of us got married and had children. Very recently two more have now married so perhaps they will have children someday, but it all just seems to be very slow-going this getting married thing. Also I distinctly remember when I saw this clip from Nightline that said 42% of black women had never been married and that 70% of black women with professional degrees were unmarried. That is very upsetting! Richard Banks looks at all of the data and features lots of interviews primarily with black women in their late 30s and 40s with professional degrees to try and understand the conditions that have created this problem and also offer solutions to black women and the black community as a whole. A VERY good and interesting read. (Ultimately, Banks believes black women should consider marrying outside their race. I found this to be an interesting conclusion since most of the ladies in my local Mocha Moms chapter are married to non-black men.)

The Happiness Project: Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean my Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun by Gretchen Rubin– Before finding this book, I found her blog.Β http://www.happiness-project.com/. Go ahead and click on her blog. You’ll enjoy it. She posts just about everyday and it is always about various themes and ideas of happiness. Gretchen is a mom who one day realized that life was sort of passing her by and she wasn’t really enjoying it that much. Even though there was MUCH to enjoy and be happy about! She has a wonderful husband, two healthy daughters, a great job and lives in a great city! And yet, the details and doldrums of life are what mostly occupied her thoughts. She realized that she needed to change that. She didn’t want to change her life, she just wanted to bring more JOY to it. I think that is something most people can appreciate and that most of us could also work on! In her book The Happiness Project, Gretchen Rubin really takes this whole happiness-thing quite seriously and becomes extremely well-read on the subject. I enjoy her various quotes from different writers (she especially likes to quote Samuel Johnson) and overall enjoyed reading her self-discovery as she does things like go to bed on-time, starts a collection, forms a book club, splurges some money and overall trys to tap into what happiness is all about for her and her family.

Have a wonderful day!

(Note: You can get ALL of these from the library! My very favorite government institution.)

4 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

4 responses to “Day 153- Three good books!

  1. You don’t like Harry Potter, really? Wow. Do you enjoy the movies but not the books? Just curious. πŸ™‚

    I totally understand your preference for nonfiction, though. I love nonfiction myself, and also historical fiction. And I don’t have any interest in the Twilight books, either. I also hate reality shows and never even watch the big ones like “American Idol” or “Survivor.” So I guess there are always a few people to buck every trend, eh?

    (By the way, that dress/capris combo is really cute.)

    • I got half way through the first Harry Potter book. It just wasn’t doing anything for me. Perhaps if I had stuck it out I would have discovered the magic of these characters. I almost think I should do that, read the whole first book, just to give it more of a chance. I have never been into the movies at all :/ I tend to like dialogue-driven indie films. I recently saw After the Wedding and loved it. (I saw the rec. on the Happiness Project site.)

      I do like American Idol though!! πŸ˜€

  2. I read “The Happiness Project” a while ago and really enjoyed it. “How I Got My Wiggle Back” sounds like an interesting book.

  3. Thank you for the nice review of How I Got My Wiggle Back πŸ™‚ If you would like to get more in-depth into the approach to looking at your body as a spring mechanism I invite you to visit the blog where we are posting up supplementary background information, how to videos of proper walking form and techniques, hands on treatments and exercises. Once again, thank you for reviewing the book Dr James Stoxen DC when the show must go on….

    http://www.teamdoctorsblog.com

Leave a Reply

