Could use your opinion

Hi All,

Quick question. I know this started as a skirts project and I sort of abandoned it. That doesn’t mean I don’t wear skirts and dresses anymore, it just means I’m not taking pictures and posting it etc…

A big part of why I stopped is that I began to feel a tad narcissistic putting my mug and gams on the internet every day. I’d much rather it included many other people! But I don’t feel it is ethical to “sneek” pictures of people that I encounter in public and I don’t want to harass my cute friends for pictures either. (I could just imagine them putting a cute outfit back in the closet thinking “Shoot. If I wear this, she’s gonna go paparazzi on me.” But who knows, maybe they liked me asking to take their picture?) Also, it got to where I didn’t want my kids seeing me snap my picture because I don’t want them to think their dear mother has a strange self-adoration complex. I eventually learned how to hide it.

But I do know that many people were encouraged by seeing examples of feminine dress from a non-fashionista. Just regular stuff that anyone could throw together.

So my question is, do any of you miss the skirts? Or are you A-ok without them?

Thanks 🙂

12 Comments

Filed under A Year in Skirts

12 responses to “Could use your opinion

  1. Lisa

    I really liked the skirt pics. I hope you start doing them again!!

  2. Kate

    I miss the skirt pictures, they were defiantly an encouragement to me.

  3. bethinthecity

    I really enjoyed them. I never felt like you were narcissistic. You were far to down to earth about why you were doing it, as well as the fact that you wore real-life outfits. You gave me something to think about! Another blogger does this “What I Wore Wednesday” thing. I love that too. Any other day of the week she posts about her art, her kids, etc. but on Wednesdays it’s her thrift store outfits and she links in with other What I Wore people. It’s a lot of fun. If you blog about other things I will enjoy that too.

  4. san

    Yep i miss the skirts especially since i am trying to find a workable solution of tops and skirts that does not make me look frumpy but is modest

    San x

  5. Jennifer

    I enjoyed the pictures of your skirt wearing adventures. It was encouraging to see how you managed to maintain a very feminine look ‘in real life’.

  6. I miss seeing your skirt pictures too, Jamie!

  7. I miss the skirt pictures too!!

  8. Oh, I definitely missed the skirts! And I don’t think that you posing daily pictures of your outfits is self-adoration. I think it’s a great behavior to be modeling dresses and skirts for your children — especially for girls. You seem to be a lone voice in the wilderness of inappropriate clothing. I have two girls and I struggle trying to come up with feminine ideals to model for them. It’s nice to know that you are choosing this path deliberately, and you sharing that journey with us is wonderful. Keep it up! And if you have other blogs that you read for inspiration, please share those with us as well!

  9. Dwayne

    Yes, I miss the pictures. The pictures show how far you’ve come in your journey, and they’ve likely inspired a number of gals to wear skirts and dresses more often. You’ve come a long way, and you should be proud of yourself. I’m proud of you.

  10. Nancy

    I am in the process of implementing more skirts and dresses into wardrobe…keep taking pictures!

Leave a Reply

