On my nightstand: Born to Run

Well I’ve jumped on the bandwagon and am reading the running book that everyone else is reading. How do I know that everyone else is reading Born to Run? Well, it’s the chia seeds! They sell them at Trader Joes now and I had never heard of their nutritional wonderfulness until I read this book. Lo and behold, Trader Joes execs must have had a meeting about their demographic and what they’re doing/reading because suddenly packages of chia seeds are placed right by the entrance for $4.99.

More than about chia seeds, Born to Run is the book that got the nation talking about barefoot running and has launched a whole new discussion of proper alignment and foot/body health. It’s super interesting. One of my favorite blogs to read about healthy human biomechanics is KatySays if you’re interested in such things.

The most interesting part of this book though, is learning about these amazing athletes that I had never heard of before. The Raramuri, a tribe in remote Mexico who easily run 150 miles in thin sandals. Ann Trason, an incredible American athlete whose abilities are compared to Lance Armstrong x 4. Scott Jurek who ran 250 miles across Death Valley and beat the previous record by two hours on his first time out there (who does that?!)

Above all it’s a book about the joy of running and living.

Now, the one thing that’s difficult about reading this book is translating the joy of running that author McDougall describes into my own running sessions. So if I don’t feel joy am I not doing it right? Unfortunately I don’t really enjoy running even though I guess it would be nice if I did. I like the sense of accomplishment I get from running, but it definitely does not feel like fun. Who knows, perhaps if I had some little slipper running sandals it would transform me into a light and lithe jogging enthusiast. 🙂

Have a wonderful day!

Leave a comment

Filed under A Year in Skirts

Leave a Reply

